From our Friends at PiperWai: Activated Charcoal, What Is It and What Does It Do?

Tuesday, June 19, 2018

From lemonade to beauty products, activated charcoal seems to be everywhere these days -- but this very of-the-moment ingredient really does have some serious bona fides. When it comes to cleansing water of impurities, activate charcoal is one of the strongest tools in our arsenal thanks to it's incredible absorbing properties, and these very same abilities make it the star ingredient in an incredible natural deodorant. Our friends at Piperwai took a look at exactly what this wonder-ingredient does for their product, so we thought we'd pass it along to you as well.


activated charcoal blog 1024x1024

If you are the tiniest bit familiar with PiperWai, then you’ve likely heard the term “activated charcoal” more than once. There’s a reason for that. Activated charcoal is our magic ingredient, the thing that makes PiperWai stand out from every other natural deodorant.

The term may throw people off, though. Many hear “charcoal” and think of the stuff that goes on grills or in the fireplace. The difference between your everyday household charcoal and activated charcoal is that oxygen is added in, making activated charcoal more porous and better at absorption.

Its primary purpose is to absorbs the body’s toxins. Many emergency rooms utilize activated charcoal when dealing with patients who have been poisoned or have been through an overdose.

PiperWai cofounder Jess Edelstein stumbled upon activated charcoal after hearing about its natural toxin-absorbing abilities. When she started her mission to create a natural deodorant that works for her, she didn’t immediately consider activated charcoal as an important ingredient. Jess went through test batch after test batch until it clicked that activated charcoal could have been the missing ingredient all along.

She spent a considerable amount of time researching activated charcoal, how it works and its natural uses. It turned out that this special ingredient was what she needed to create a natural deodorant that actually works. It turned out that activated charcoal absorbs odor-causing bacteria and moisture the same way it absorbs toxins in the body. So, she did some experiments and put it to the test.

Jess's friend Sarah Ribner had tried many of the previous test batches and knew Jess was on to something after she tested the activated charcoal version. She called Jess and told her to start selling the deodorant immediately. Jess agreed under one term: that Sarah would be her business partner. Jess and Sarah soon realized that this deodorant was the game-changing venture they had been dreaming about launching since they were little kids with a lemonade stand.

No other natural deodorant company was using activated charcoal to absorb odor and wetness, so Jess and Sarah jumped at the chance to be the very first. They put in hours crafting the perfect batches in a Philadelphia community kitchen, filling and packaging the deodorant themselves, handing it out to friends and family, launching an Indiegogo campaign and selling it to local retailers. And the response was overwhelmingly positive.

With the “ah-ha!” activated charcoal discovery, hard work, fine tuning and pure hustle, Jess and Sarah created the PiperWai you know today.

Past Posts

  • Drink Water to Help You Lose Weight

    Tuesday, September 18, 2018

  • Official Tern Water Press Release: 5% Healthy Water Initiative

    Monday, July 23, 2018

  • Water Main Breaks and Floods Center City Philadelphia

    Monday, July 23, 2018

  • Scott Mazo at Healthy Philly

    Friday, July 20, 2018

  • Philly Water Startup can help Elon Musk bring healthy Water to Flint

    Wednesday, July 11, 2018

  • #waterroundup for July 6, 2018

    Friday, July 6, 2018

  • The Product Development Cycle of the Smart Faucet: Test, Optimize, and Test Some More

    Friday, July 6, 2018

  • #waterroundup for June 29th, 2018

    Friday, June 29, 2018

  • Tern's Work for Healthy Water Never Stops

    Friday, June 29, 2018

  • Tern's Benchmarks for Water Quality

    Wednesday, June 27, 2018

  • Spotlight on Infrastructure: California

    Monday, June 25, 2018

  • #waterroundup for June 22nd, 2018

    Saturday, June 23, 2018

  • Tern Visits the Advanced Manufacturing Show in New York

    Friday, June 22, 2018

  • From our Friends at PiperWai: Activated Charcoal, What Is It and What Does It Do?

    Tuesday, June 19, 2018

  • Why I Believe in Water for Good Health

    Monday, June 18, 2018

  • #waterroundup for June 15th, 2018

    Friday, June 15, 2018

  • The Growing Smart Home Market

    Wednesday, June 13, 2018

  • Spotlight on Infrastructure: Miami

    Monday, June 11, 2018

  • #waterroundup for June 8th, 2018

    Friday, June 8, 2018

  • It Happened in Hinkley

    Wednesday, June 6, 2018

  • Know Your Contaminant: Chromium-6

    Monday, June 4, 2018

  • #waterroundup for June 1st, 2018

    Friday, June 1, 2018

  • What's the Deal with Raw Water?

    Wednesday, May 30, 2018

  • #waterroundup for May 25th, 2018

    Friday, May 25, 2018

  • Know Your Contaminant: Lead

    Thursday, May 24, 2018

  • On the EPA and the National Leadership Summit

    Wednesday, May 23, 2018

  • #waterroundup for May 18th, 2018

    Friday, May 18, 2018

  • Spotlight on Water Infrastructure: New York City

    Wednesday, May 16, 2018

  • The waterroundup for Friday, May 11

    Friday, May 11, 2018

  • The waterroundup for Friday, April 20

    Friday, April 20, 2018

  • How water data can help entire communities live healthier lives

    Thursday, April 5, 2018

  • A Conversation with the Water Department

    Wednesday, March 28, 2018

  • Health Benefits of Water, In Honor of World Water Day

    Wednesday, March 21, 2018

  • Healthy Water at the "Point of Use"

    Tuesday, March 13, 2018

  • How to Make Sure Water From Our Kitchen is Safe to Drink

    Thursday, March 8, 2018

  • Lack of Water Awareness is a Growing Problem, and We’re Fixing That

    Monday, February 26, 2018

  • Tern Water reply to statements made by the Philadelphia Water Department

    Wednesday, February 14, 2018

  • Cape Cod, You Can Now Test Your Water Quality!

    Thursday, December 7, 2017

  • PA, Get Your Water Turbidity Tested!

    Tuesday, November 21, 2017

  • Tern Launches Know Your Water

    Thursday, October 5, 2017

  • Alexandria’s Flood

    Tuesday, July 18, 2017

  • Tern Water Announces Partnership with Cross Properties.

    Tuesday, July 18, 2017

  • There’s Something in the Water: The Betrayal of a Municipal Water System

    Tuesday, July 18, 2017

  • Water for the Modern Age

    Tuesday, November 29, 2016

  • Background Information

    Friday, January 1, 2016

  • Tern Standards, Accuracy, and References

    Friday, January 1, 2016