#Waterroundup for October 8th, 2018

Thursday, November 8, 2018

What does voting, University of North Carolina - Chapil Hill, sleep, hovercrafts and the Pope have in common? They all are the topics of this weeks, weekly water roundup.


Embedded content: https://www.usnews.com/news/best-states/california/articles/2018-11-06/california-voters-consider-9-billion-for-water-projects

In early voting polls, Californians were leaning against borrowing $9 billion for water projects. Californina is known for its subpar water infrastructure. The money would go towards restoring dams, watershed and fishery improvements and habitat protection and restoration.


Embedded content: https://www.newsobserver.com/news/local/article221191950.html

University of North Carolina canceled classes on Tuesday, October 6th, due to a water main break. This is the second time in two years, where the main pipe has broken, disrupting all of the residents of Chapel Hill.


Embedded content: https://www.bustle.com/p/drinking-more-water-might-help-you-feel-less-tired-according-to-this-new-study-13095383

Is coffee really necessary? According to Penn State's new research study, drinking water can help you feel less tired. Published in the journal Sleep, the study looked into levels of hydration and inadequate sleep patterns.


Embedded content: https://thehill.com/opinion/energy-environment/414638-alaska-case-could-be-landmark-in-water-rights-disputes

In the landmark case, Sturgeon v. Frost, the Supreme Court will decide what rights Americans have, when it comes to water use. In a nearly decade long battle with the National Park Service, John Sturgeon has fought for his right to fly his hovercraft upstream, so that he access the hunting grounds above them.


Embedded content: https://abcnews.go.com/International/wireStory/pope-safe-drinking-water-human-merchandise-59053283

In his statement, on October 8th, the Pope has affirmed that access to clean and safe drinking water, is a human right. In his statement, he explained that access to water is often corrupted by financial greed, and that people's health is sacrificed, in return.

Past Posts

  • Wildfires, Water and the West

    Monday, November 12, 2018

  • Plastic Bottles vs. The Smart Faucet

    Thursday, November 8, 2018

  • #Waterroundup for October 8th, 2018

    Thursday, November 8, 2018

  • #Waterroundup for October 31st, 2018

    Wednesday, October 31, 2018

  • Newark Water Crisis

    Wednesday, October 31, 2018

  • Drink Water to Help You Lose Weight

    Tuesday, September 18, 2018

  • Official Tern Water Press Release: 5% Healthy Water Initiative

    Monday, July 23, 2018

  • Water Main Breaks and Floods Center City Philadelphia

    Monday, July 23, 2018

  • Scott Mazo at Healthy Philly

    Friday, July 20, 2018

  • Philly Water Startup can help Elon Musk bring healthy Water to Flint

    Wednesday, July 11, 2018

  • #waterroundup for July 6, 2018

    Friday, July 6, 2018

  • The Product Development Cycle of the Smart Faucet: Test, Optimize, and Test Some More

    Friday, July 6, 2018

  • #waterroundup for June 29th, 2018

    Friday, June 29, 2018

  • Tern's Work for Healthy Water Never Stops

    Friday, June 29, 2018

  • Tern's Benchmarks for Water Quality

    Wednesday, June 27, 2018

  • Spotlight on Infrastructure: California

    Monday, June 25, 2018

  • #waterroundup for June 22nd, 2018

    Saturday, June 23, 2018

  • Tern Visits the Advanced Manufacturing Show in New York

    Friday, June 22, 2018

  • From our Friends at PiperWai: Activated Charcoal, What Is It and What Does It Do?

    Tuesday, June 19, 2018

  • Why I Believe in Water for Good Health

    Monday, June 18, 2018

  • #waterroundup for June 15th, 2018

    Friday, June 15, 2018

  • The Growing Smart Home Market

    Wednesday, June 13, 2018

  • Spotlight on Infrastructure: Miami

    Monday, June 11, 2018

  • #waterroundup for June 8th, 2018

    Friday, June 8, 2018

  • It Happened in Hinkley

    Wednesday, June 6, 2018

  • Know Your Contaminant: Chromium-6

    Monday, June 4, 2018

  • #waterroundup for June 1st, 2018

    Friday, June 1, 2018

  • What's the Deal with Raw Water?

    Wednesday, May 30, 2018

  • #waterroundup for May 25th, 2018

    Friday, May 25, 2018

  • Know Your Contaminant: Lead

    Thursday, May 24, 2018

  • On the EPA and the National Leadership Summit

    Wednesday, May 23, 2018

  • #waterroundup for May 18th, 2018

    Friday, May 18, 2018

  • Spotlight on Water Infrastructure: New York City

    Wednesday, May 16, 2018

  • The waterroundup for Friday, May 11

    Friday, May 11, 2018

  • The waterroundup for Friday, April 20

    Friday, April 20, 2018

  • How water data can help entire communities live healthier lives

    Thursday, April 5, 2018

  • A Conversation with the Water Department

    Wednesday, March 28, 2018

  • Health Benefits of Water, In Honor of World Water Day

    Wednesday, March 21, 2018

  • Healthy Water at the "Point of Use"

    Tuesday, March 13, 2018

  • How to Make Sure Water From Our Kitchen is Safe to Drink

    Thursday, March 8, 2018

  • Lack of Water Awareness is a Growing Problem, and We’re Fixing That

    Monday, February 26, 2018

  • Tern Water reply to statements made by the Philadelphia Water Department

    Wednesday, February 14, 2018

  • Cape Cod, You Can Now Test Your Water Quality!

    Thursday, December 7, 2017

  • PA, Get Your Water Turbidity Tested!

    Tuesday, November 21, 2017

  • Tern Launches Know Your Water

    Thursday, October 5, 2017

  • Alexandria’s Flood

    Tuesday, July 18, 2017

  • Tern Water Announces Partnership with Cross Properties.

    Tuesday, July 18, 2017

  • There’s Something in the Water: The Betrayal of a Municipal Water System

    Tuesday, July 18, 2017

  • Water for the Modern Age

    Tuesday, November 29, 2016

  • Background Information

    Friday, January 1, 2016

  • Tern Standards, Accuracy, and References

    Friday, January 1, 2016