Why I Believe in Water for Good Health

Monday, June 18, 2018

The Engineering Corner: Week of June 17, 2018

waterboy

*Welcome to the Engineering Corner, a new weekly blog that will provide an inside look at our Product Development team’s progress with the Smart Faucet and exciting experiences, as well as highlighting important sustainable breakthroughs in today's technology revolution.

My name is Jon Colosimo and I am the Engineering Director for Tern Water. In my past three years with The Tern Team, I have experienced some fantastic opportunities as the company and it’s vision has grown. Between the experiences of the Product Development cycle with the Smart Faucet and networking opportunities presented at local meetups and large conventions such as CES, I am always fascinated with the stories of product developers, hearing the struggles they face and their eventual successes.*

So let’s start off with a simple question: Why do I want to talk about engineering, water, and the importance of how they intersect? The two pictures below show my story of the past year:

Jon Before

A picture from May 2017 of an out of shape, scary, bearded dude with long hair.

Jon After My current team picture from February 2018.

The difference? About 55 pounds less. What led this to happen? Simple. I started drinking 12 oz of water every morning.

We are all over consumed by the ease of technology in our lives. The average person wakes up in the morning, looks at their phone, takes a shower, brushes their teeth, and throws down a cup of coffee to get their day started. That list never involves rehydrating after 6-8 hours of sleep with no water intake. Instead, we scrub social media and claim the brief rush of caffeine is enough to get our day moving. The simple discipline of drinking a glass of water first thing in the morning helped me start my day in the right direction, and allowed me to acknowledge and respect the path I needed to follow every day in order to take care of myself, from diet to exercise, and other everyday habits. Imagine cold starting a race car and immediately pushing it to max speed. Without giving the engine a chance to warm up and prime itself, performance will deteriorate and lead to damages down the road. It is no different with our bodies.

Glass a day cropped

A simple glass of water in the morning helps get the body warmed up. The addition of minerals (such as freshly squeezed lemon) also assists in activating crucial enzymes that optimize your body’s performance. That’s it! A glass of water every morning has made all the difference.

As always, our team values the feedback of interested parties in the Smart Faucet and it’s associated products. To schedule your demo, please email info@ternwater.com.

Past Posts

  • Philly Water Startup can help Elon Musk bring healthy Water to Flint

    Wednesday, July 11, 2018

  • #waterroundup for July 6, 2018

    Friday, July 6, 2018

  • The Product Development Cycle of the Smart Faucet: Test, Optimize, and Test Some More

    Friday, July 6, 2018

  • #waterroundup for June 29th, 2018

    Friday, June 29, 2018

  • Tern's Work for Healthy Water Never Stops

    Friday, June 29, 2018

  • Tern's Benchmarks for Water Quality

    Wednesday, June 27, 2018

  • Spotlight on Infrastructure: California

    Monday, June 25, 2018

  • #waterroundup for June 22nd, 2018

    Saturday, June 23, 2018

  • Tern Visits the Advanced Manufacturing Show in New York

    Friday, June 22, 2018

  • From our Friends at PiperWai: Activated Charcoal, What Is It and What Does It Do?

    Tuesday, June 19, 2018

  • Why I Believe in Water for Good Health

    Monday, June 18, 2018

  • #waterroundup for June 15th, 2018

    Friday, June 15, 2018

  • The Growing Smart Home Market

    Wednesday, June 13, 2018

  • Spotlight on Infrastructure: Miami

    Monday, June 11, 2018

  • #waterroundup for June 8th, 2018

    Friday, June 8, 2018

  • It Happened in Hinkley

    Wednesday, June 6, 2018

  • Know Your Contaminant: Chromium-6

    Monday, June 4, 2018

  • #waterroundup for June 1st, 2018

    Friday, June 1, 2018

  • What's the Deal with Raw Water?

    Wednesday, May 30, 2018

  • #waterroundup for May 25th, 2018

    Friday, May 25, 2018

  • Know Your Contaminant: Lead

    Thursday, May 24, 2018

  • On the EPA and the National Leadership Summit

    Wednesday, May 23, 2018

  • #waterroundup for May 18th, 2018

    Friday, May 18, 2018

  • Spotlight on Water Infrastructure: New York City

    Wednesday, May 16, 2018

  • The waterroundup for Friday, May 11

    Friday, May 11, 2018

  • The waterroundup for Friday, April 20

    Friday, April 20, 2018

  • How water data can help entire communities live healthier lives

    Thursday, April 5, 2018

  • A Conversation with the Water Department

    Wednesday, March 28, 2018

  • Health Benefits of Water, In Honor of World Water Day

    Wednesday, March 21, 2018

  • Healthy Water at the "Point of Use"

    Tuesday, March 13, 2018

  • How to Make Sure Water From Our Kitchen is Safe to Drink

    Thursday, March 8, 2018

  • Lack of Water Awareness is a Growing Problem, and We’re Fixing That

    Monday, February 26, 2018

  • Tern Water reply to statements made by the Philadelphia Water Department

    Wednesday, February 14, 2018

  • Cape Cod, You Can Now Test Your Water Quality!

    Thursday, December 7, 2017

  • PA, Get Your Water Turbidity Tested!

    Tuesday, November 21, 2017

  • Tern Launches Know Your Water

    Thursday, October 5, 2017

  • Alexandria’s Flood

    Tuesday, July 18, 2017

  • Tern Water Announces Partnership with Cross Properties.

    Tuesday, July 18, 2017

  • There’s Something in the Water: The Betrayal of a Municipal Water System

    Tuesday, July 18, 2017

  • Water for the Modern Age

    Tuesday, November 29, 2016

  • Background Information

    Friday, January 1, 2016

  • Tern Standards, Accuracy, and References

    Friday, January 1, 2016